Preperation is Key

“Before a young woman’s turn came to go in to King Xerxes, she had to complete twelve months of beauty treatments prescribed for the women, six months with oil of myrrh and six with perfumes and cosmetics.” Esther 2:12

I’m back…back from the wedding and honeymoon and everything fairy tale and dreamy. I’m back to reality. But, I must say, back to a much better reality where I live with my best friend and I come home to our little house every night.

Just because I haven’t been blogging doesn’t mean I haven’t been thinking about this post. Because I have. In fact, I was thinking about it while I was laying on a lounge chair in the Bahamas looking at this:

I’ve been thinking about Esther. I don’t blame you if you don’t remember that was what we were chatting about before I fell off the face of the earth. As a review, I was looking at the story of Esther, a Jewish woman who started as a slave and ended as Queen of an empire. She was a lady with a purpose. Today, I want to talk about what took her from “common” to extraordinary. Because we all want to be extraordinary, don’t we?

Check out the verse I copied at the beginning of this post: doesn’t that sound amazing? Before any young woman, including Esther, got to meet the King, they had to go through a HUGE makeover. The kind that makes the Style Network look like amateur hour. Each girl had to spend a year being treated with the best the royal kingdom had to offer. I wonder what that was like for Esther. I’m sure it was fun at times, but still, it meant waiting a whole year to meet the King! I’m sure she was pretty anxious.

 Well, as I sat on the beach during my honeymoon, I couldn’t help but draw a parallel between my life and Esther’s. Here I was, relaxing and shedding all the stress and anxiety of the past few months. But I was also thinking about what lay ahead. Because I knew I had to leave my job and soon. There are other things in life right now that are stressful too, but this is the big one. I knew that our honeymoon, in part, was a gift to allow me to prepare my heart and mind and soul for the battle that was coming.

 It’s never easy to leave a job. And it’s never easy to find a new one. And that’s where I”m at. Still working in a job I know I don’t belong doing, in a place I don’t particularly like, while I look for a job that I can love. Or at least like. I keep praying that God will open a window, since He’s clearly closing a door on my current job.

We’ll see what the future holds. But I do know that God has built me up and prepared me for this tough time. He gave me a husband who loves me and supports in a way I could have never dreamed. He gave me His Holy Spirit, to give me wisdom and peace while I try to patiently wait for the next season in my life. And He gave me a very special trip that I will never forget.

~ by tatteredsoldier on May 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
