Restoration Hardware [in intro]

“And who knows but that you have come to royal position for such a time as this?”  Esther 4:14b

I’ve been thinking a lot about destiny lately. I feel more and more like my job is just plain silly. Like, in the big scheme of life and the Kingdom of God, my promotion of an all-natural grocery store just isn’t cutting it. There are a couple of things I know: I want to feel like I’m serving the Lord while I work. For me, that means I want to work in a soup kitchen or  at non-profit organization. I want to show people God’s love in a tangible way. I don’t know where that knowledge will take me, but I’m open to the Lord’s leading.

I also know that I love to write. And because of that, I’ve felt more of a burden to get some of my ideas down on paper. I’m blessed to have this blog, because it allows me to release a lot of my thoughts onto “paper” immediately. But there are some bigger projects I need to invest time in. No one can write my books for me. I need to sit down and do it.

I read a C.S. Lewis quote recently that I love: “You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.” When I saw that, it stirred me. The kind of stirring that starts deep inside of you and works it’s way through you until it’s all you can think about. You know what I mean? Sometimes, I think we feel like we’re stuck in our lives and we have no choices. Like we can’t possibly change jobs or try a new ministry at church or invest in a different hobby. Why not?!? It’s time to run after the life we know God has planned for us. It’s time to start setting goals and dreaming dreams.

There are always question marks in life. Like I don’t love the job I have at my company, but if I could finally get a promotion, I think I could make it work with what I feel called to do. Is this where God wants me? Only time will tell. If I’m not meant to stay at this company, where should I go? Hmm…

Over the next few posts, I’m going to look at the story of Esther, an everyday girl who grew into a legendary queen. There were probably a lot of days when she wasn’t too happy with the progress of her life. But she was obedient to God. And that was all that was expected of her.  She was prepared for her moment, for her time.

Are there dreams you’ve put on the back burner? Do you feel like I do, like there are bigger and better things ahead for you and your calling? Do you need to restore some belief in yourself and your potentional? Then I look forward to taking this journey together. And who knows, maybe, just maybe, we have been called to God’s kingdom for such a time as this!

~ by tatteredsoldier on January 23, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
