Celebrating Christmas with the Prince

For to us a child is born, to us a son is given,  and the government will be on his shoulders.
And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. -Isaiah 9:6

Wow…what has NOT happened since I last blogged? I started a new job, which has made my last week absolutely busy and crazy and challenging and overwhelming all at the same time. It was the right decision to take the job…I know that. But change is still hard. I went from a laid back, routine environment to a fast-paced, unpredictable rollercoaster ride. It’s going to be an adjustment!

Then, since tonight is the first time I’ve had a chance to catch up on the computer, I checked my credit card bill and realized my balance was SO HIGH! I’ll spare you the details. All I can say is that I always pay my bill to zero. And this one shocked me. Apparently all of the shopping for presents really added up.  Tis the season, I suppose.

Just in case I wasn’t worrying about finances enough, 60 Minutes just featured a special about the money issues affecting the country. A lot of it was about budget cuts for education. Jim is a teacher, so we both just watched and worried.

PLUS, I lost a diamond out of my engagement ring today! Oh.my.gosh. I spent most of the sermon today crawling around on the floor in the halls of the church looking for it! This story has a happy ending, though. We never found the stone, but we went right to the jeweler, and he replaced it without charging us! Such a relief.

Here’s my point: the worries are adding up. Gosh, if I took them all in, it would drive me up a wall! That is, except for one thing…

Lucky for me, it’s Christmas time. So I’ve been hearing great verses about the coming of Jesus. And there’s one in particular that rings true in my life right now. It’s the one I wrote above. The part that I’m living is the fact that Jesus is “the prince of peace”.

WOW! Double, triple wow. I can tell you this is true. Without a doubt. I’m living it. God is so faithful. I can’t wait to share victories with you all. Can’t wait to tell you how Jim and I make it through every difficulty. I always tell him, we’re going to be fine. And it’s true. Not because I know what lies ahead. But because I know that Jesus will always be present to provide for our needs and to give us peace in times of plenty and times of want. He is the PRINCE OF PEACE. He is completely in charge of peace, and He loves to deal out the peaceful goodness in volumes to His children. Ask Him for it!

So in this wonderful Christmas season, please find time to worship the one who put the “Christ” in Christmas. And enjoy a heaping helping of His peace!

Much love and Merry Christmas!

~ by tatteredsoldier on December 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
