I’ll Rescue You, Then Throw You a Party.

“If you’ll hold on to me for dear life,” says God,
      “I’ll get you out of any trouble.
   I’ll give you the best of care
      if you’ll only get to know and trust me.
   Call me and I’ll answer, be at your side in bad times;
      I’ll rescue you, then throw you a party.
   I’ll give you a long life,
      give you a long drink of salvation!”  -Psalm 91:14-16 [The Message]

My future sister-in-law recently mentioned how she liked The Message version of the Bible for the Psalms. She said they made more sense in that version. So tonight, when I needed a really personal message, I decided to take her advice…and found what I needed.

Tomorrow, I have two big events: a physical and a job interview. The physical is the one that’s really weighing on me. I don’t know why, but it scares me. I haven’t had one since it was mandatory in college, and lately I’ve been feeling worn down and out of shape. Somewhere in my worrying mind that makes me think something might be wrong. And I want to hear that everything is all right.

Add to that the fact that I’m following up the doctor visit with a job interview that will take me to a position I’m not sure I should even step into and I’m a bit overwhelmed. You see, the interview is for a transfer back to a store I used to work in. It was a place that was very hard for me. In fact, I would call it the low point in my working life. So, although the job is probably the right move for me, it’s hard to imagine walking back through those doors every day.

I think I’m afraid that tomorrow might mess up my life. I’m about to get married to the man I’m insanely in love with, and the wrong news tomorrow could create stress or fears in my life that I don’t want to have now. I want to be living in joy, planning our future together. I’m sure that tomorrow the doctor will laugh at me and tell me I need to start exercising and that whatever happens at work will be the right thing. But I just can’t wait for it all to be over!

Until then, it’s so good to know that I serve a God who allows me to hold onto Him for dear life. And that he plans to give me a long life. Bless the Lord oh my soul and all that is within me bless His holy name!

If you think of it, say a prayer for me. I need to rest in God’s perfect peace and know that He’s a party throwing God, not a doom and gloom God. Let me go boldly into my Monday, my dear Lord, knowing that you will give me the best of care.

~ by tatteredsoldier on November 29, 2010.

2 Responses to “I’ll Rescue You, Then Throw You a Party.”

  1. Just said a prayer for you Nicole! God is always faithful, and he will give you the grace to handle anything that comes your way! love you

Leave a Reply

 
