Falling in Love

‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’ -Luke 10:27 (and Deutoronomy 6:5)

I’ve got love on my mind. If you know me, it’s not hard to figure out why. If you don’t, let fill you in quickly. A little over a year ago, I met Jim (aka my dream guy). Up until that point, I had never had a boyfriend. I was 22 and slightly convinced that God was calling me to serve Him alone. Then, one night at a Bible Study, there was Jim. And my life was changed forever. Fastforward a year, and we’re talking weddings, houses and a ton of other “life stuff”…together life stuff.

Add in the fact that we just went to two weddings in one day and have another one this weekend, and I am currently all about love and fairy tales and white dresses. And, as these things go, I find myself making connections from my “earthly” life into my spiritual life.

What is my Jesus love story? The Bible says that as Christians, we’re the Bride of Christ. And someday, He’s coming to take His Church with Him into eternity. To live with Him forever. But where does my story start? What has led me to this point?

Well, as a kid, I found Jesus. I was lucky. Blessed. Call it what you want, I loved Jesus and I knew He loved me. Call it cliche, call it whatever you want. But it saved my life, that love. The Lord has always been there for me. He’s like a friend I grew up with. He knows my past. He’s walked with me through my best moments and my worst. And He still stays up late and talks to me about my same old issues.

So here’s my really simple thought: do you know how much God loves you? Because if you do, it will change you. Just like knowing how much Jim loves me changes me. I live my life with a different attitude because I know that Jim is there to protect me, support me, and believe in me. His love just changes things. And you can multiply that by a billion when it comes to God’s love.

I invite you to embark on a challenge I am giving to myself: fall deeper. Deeper into those everlasting arms of love that God is extending out to you. And let that love transform the way you live your life.

~ by tatteredsoldier on August 7, 2010.

Leave a comment